FERMA Press Release: FERMA secures leadership succession


FERMA - Federation of European Risk Management Associations


Press Release


12 December 2014


FERMA secures leadership succession


The board of the Federation of European Risk Management Associations (FERMA) has made three high level appointments to secure its leadership succession. The appointments took effect from 11 December 2014, the date on which the FERMA Board met and approved them.



Jo Willaert

Jo Willaert has been named Deputy President, a newly created position, and will become the next President of FERMA when the current President, Julia Graham, completes her two year term of office in October 2015. Currently one of three FERMA Vice Presidents, Jo is Corporate Risk Manager for Agfa-Gevaert based in Belgium. He is also a board member of the Belgian risk management association BELRIM.



Edwin V. Meyer

Edwin V Meyer, FERMA board member and General Manager Risk and Insurance Management for ArcelorMittal based in Luxembourg, will become Secretary General. He is also a board member of the German risk management association DVS. He takes over from Pierre Sonigo who has served FERMA in this role since 2004.




Anders Esbjörnsson

Anders Esbjörnsson, FERMA board member and Group Risk Manager NCC based in Sweden, will become Treasurer.  He is a member of the Swedish risk management association SWERMA. Anders takes over from Fernand De Winter who has served FERMA in this role since 2007.



Edwin and Anders will become members of the FERMA Executive Committee, together with President Julia Graham, Deputy President Jo Willaert, the two Vice Presidents, Michel Dennery and Alessandro De Felice, and FERMA Executive Director Florence Bindelle.


FERMA President Julia Graham said: "These are important appointments for FERMA to secure the future succession of our leadership. This is vital for FERMA to maintain and develop its role as the voice of European risk management, insurance and risk financing and to continue with ground-breaking projects such as the Certification of European risk professionals, which we will launch in 2015."


Julia also paid tribute to the work of Pierre and Fernand. "FERMA owes an enormous thank you to Pierre and Fernand. Their passion and commitment have been at the heart of the evolution of FERMA and have helped to make FERMA the thriving federation we have today."  


During his time with FERMA, Pierre Sonigo has been closely involved with FERMA's work on the EU Environmental Liability Directive and Solvency II, among other projects. In 2012, he received a special award from Strategic Risk for his outstanding contribution to risk management and in 2013 he was given a life time achievement award from the Institute of Risk Management. 


High resolution photos can be downloaded from: http://www.ferma.eu/media/


Press contacts

Lee Coppack, FERMA media coordinator, at lee@coppack.co.uk 

+44 208 318 0330/ +44 7843 089904.


Florence Bindelle, Executive Director FERMA, at florence.bindelle@ferma.eu  

+32 (2) 761 94 31




The Federation of European Risk Management Associations (FERMA) brings together 22 national risk management associations in 20 European countries. FERMA has 4300 individual members representing a wide range of business sectors from major industrial and commercial companies to financial institutions and local government bodies. These members play a crucial role for their organisations with respect to the management and treatment of complex risks and insurance issues.


Member associations are from the following countries: Belgium (BELRIM), Czech Republic (ASPAR CZ), Denmark (DARIM), Finland (FinnRima), France (AMRAE), Germany (DVS/BfV), Italy (ANRA), Luxembourg (ALRiM), Malta (MARM), Netherlands (NARIM), Norway (NORIMA), Poland (POLRISK), Portugal (APOGERIS), Russia (RusRisk), Slovenia (Sl.RISK), Spain (AGERS and IGREA), Sweden (SWERMA), Switzerland (SIRM), Turkey (ERMA) and United Kingdom (Airmic).

Возврат к списку